jump to navigation

I am famous like David Hasselhoff April 17, 2009

Posted by emiliekopp in robot events, robot fun.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I found this the other day and about fell out of my chair.

Back in Fall 2008, I attended the RoboDevelopment Conference and Expo (where the epic Man vs. Machine Rubix Cube face off was caught on video). I delivered a technical presentation there called “Defining a Common Architecture for Robotics Systems.” Fancy title, huh? I thought so. You can view a webcast of my presentation from NI’s website if anyone’s interested.

So, I was in NI’s booth, showing off some of our robots, and I started talking to a German journalist (in English of course). He had a nice video camera. He interviewed me talking about, well, I can’t remember, robot stuff I guess. Five months later, I stumbled upon this:

Fast forward to ~1:05 and you’ll see a familiar face. But holy crap, it’s all dubbed in German, so I have no idea what I’m saying. I have absolutely no idea why Britney Spears is mentioned the video title and write-up. Should I be worried?

My friend Silke, from NI Germany, said “the publishing site, Stern, is a very famous and popular German magazine on politics, economics, popular sciences, and lifestyle. Maybe comparable to Newsweek or the Spectator. Emily: You are a famous star now (“Stern” means “star” in German)!”

So apparently, I’m huge in Germany. David Hasselhoff, eat your heart out.

Comments»

1. emiliekopp - April 17, 2009

Forgot to mention: when I found the video, of course all of the instructions to embed it on this blog were in German. Thanks goes out to Deirdre Walsh for helping me successfully embed the video player.


Leave a Reply

