jump to navigation

Lifestyles of the Rich and Robotic December 14, 2008

Posted by emiliekopp in robot fun.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

So I found TIME magazine has named Cinema’s Most Memorable Robots. Seeing as how I love robot friends, especially famous ones, I thought I’d take a look.

For the most part, I think they chose some good ones. WALL-E, for instance, is and always will be the robot-love-of-my-life. TIME magazine also featured Johnny-5, r2d2, The Terminator; all robots you’d expect to make the list.

lady robot.jpg

But then there’s some I’ve never heard of. Like, who is this Maria from the movie Metropolis:She’s got more womanly features than I do and I feel threatened by that. I simply won’t have it.

And they missed out on some other favorites. Deirdre Walsh thinks the little guys from Batteries Not Included should have made the cut:

https://i0.wp.com/i30.tinypic.com/20a5bfs.jpg

She knows I’m a sucker for cute robots.

But if you scroll all the way to the end, you find that really, this was simply a marketing tactic to get more people in the theater to see the new release of The Day the Earth Stood Still. Bleh. I’ll see that never.

So I’ll save you the trouble of the pop-up ads and list them out for you.

  1. Maria, Metropolis, 1927 (I already shared my thoughts on this harlot)
  2. Gort, The Day the Earth Stood Still, 1951 (this is the old Gort, i.e. not Keanu Reeves movie Gort)
  3. Robby the Robot, Forbidden Planet, 1956 (by the looks of the fancy lady he’s standing next to, he could be quite the casanova)
  4. Gunslinger, Westworld, 1973 (is that Yul Brener’s bald head on the table?)
  5. C-3P0 and R2-D2, Star Wars Episodes I-VI, 1977 – 2005 (I loved the Mel Brooks parody of these robots in Space Balls, best movie ever)
  6. Ash, Alien, 1979 (so was this dude a robot or not? I’ll never find out myself because I’m a wimp when it comes to scary movies)
  7. Terminator, Terminator, 1984 (played by the Governator)
  8. Johnny 5, Short Circuit, 1986 (from the looks of the picture, he’d be a shoe-in for the next season of Dancing with the Stars)
  9. Robocop, Robocop 1, 2 & 3, 1987 – 1993 (was it Robocop 2 that was written by Frank Miller? a little trivia nugget for those Sin City fans)
  10. Data, Star Trek, The Next Generation series, 1994 – 2002 (meh, I was never a Trekkie… did I even spell that right?)
  11. Gigolo Joe, A.I. Artificial Intelligence, 2007 (If Austin Powers gets his Fembots, then I guess I wouldn’t mind having my own Gigolo Joe… oh behave!)
  12. NS-5, I, Robot, 2004 (the coolest looking humanoid-movie-robot-not-played-by-a-human I’ve seen so far)
  13. Marvin the Paranoid Android, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, 2005 (the modern day Eeyore)
  14. Optimus Prime, Transformers, 2007 (did you know Optimus Prime is half-Jewish? Family Guy told me so)
  15. WALL-E, WALL-E, 2008 (might he be the cutest movie robot ever? I WANT HIM!)
  16. Gort? The Day the Earth Stood Still, 2008 (lame attempt at trying to get me to see a movie I never wanted to see… and seriously, who names a robot Gort and expects him to take over the world? He was probably bullied by the other robots when a young adolescent and is taking it out on the human race)

What robots do you think they missed out on? (besides Fembots and the cute little guys from Batteries Not Included)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

