jump to navigation

RoboDevelopment 2008: Rubix Cube Face Off! December 5, 2008

Posted by emiliekopp in robot events.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Recently, I was at this year’s RoboDevelopement Conference and Expo, a cool robotics conference where a bunch of robot designers get together and share the latest and greatest in the robotics industry. While I didn’t get to meet my favorite robot, WALL-E, I did get to meet some pretty cool dudes from UC Berkeley.

First, meet Rubix Cube Man: Dan Dzoan

OK, so once Anu reloaded my Flip camera with some fresh batteries, I was introduced to CuBear 2.0, Berkeley’s Rubix Cube solving robot. Some industrial solenoid actuators, some vision processing, programmed in LabVIEW. How’s that for a student design project.

Let the epic battle begin: Man vs. Machine.

Who would solve the rubix cube the fastest?

Admitedly, while the soundtrack was phenomenal (The Final Countdown, Europe), it was my first attempt doing camera work with a Flip camera; didn’t do that great of a job of getting some good footage of the robot by itself.

Luckily, the Berkeley guys have it covered. Here’s more detail on how the robot actually works:

Comments»

1. I am famous like David Hasselhoff « LabVIEW Robotics - April 17, 2009

[…] in Fall 2008, I attended the RoboDevelopment Conference and Expo (where the epic Man vs. Machine Rubix Cube face off was caught on video). I delivered a technical presentation there called “Defining a Common Architecture for […]


Leave a Reply

